Why do Different States of India Have New Year on Different Day ?

Share it

Although the Indian National Calendar is the official calendar for the Hindus, regional variants still prevail. As a result, we have a host of new year festivities that are unique to the particular regions on this vast country. Characteristic of the Indian cultural mélange, Hindus in various states of India celebrate the new year in their own ways. And not all of these fall on the same day!

Various New Year’s Day’s Celebration in Different Regions of India:

1. Ugadi :

Ugadi Festival which is Telugu New year symbolizes a new beginning, this is celebrated in the state of Karnataka and Andhra pradesh.

This festival fall in the month of March–April (Chaitra month ), date always vary because the Hindu calendar follow a different day every year because the Hindu calendar system. It is the festival of new beginning and time to get new clothes and some good food.

2. Gudi Padwa :

Marathi New Year: Gudi Padwa is celebrated on the first day of Chaitra month and its a New Year day for Maharashtrians and Konkanis. On this day a gudi is found hanging out on the right side of the main entrance of the houses, Gudi is a bright yellow cloth tied to the tip of a long bamboo and copper pot placed in inverted on it along with a sugar garland.

3. Baisakhi :

Punjabi New Year: The biggest harvest festival celebrated across North Indian states, especially in the land of Five river’s Punjab. Usually Baisakhi falls on 13th April, and some time on 14th and also celebrated as the day of the formation of the Sikh Khalsa. The main celebration takes place at the birth place of the Khalsa and at the Golden Temple in Amritsar, at Talwandi Sabo and can be seen in United States, Canada and United Kingdom.

4. Puthandu :

Tamil New Year: The traditional tamil new year starts on mid-April either on 13 or 14 April, or first day of Tamil month Chithirai. People wish each other “Puthandu Vazthukal” which means Happy New Year and Chitterai Thiruvizha is celebrated in the Meenakshi Temple Madurai. The main food of this festival is Mangai Pachadi, made of raw mangoes, jaggery and neem flowers.


5. Bohag Bihu :


Assamese New Year: The spring festival “Bohag Bihu” celebrated in the middle of April as the beginning season of agriculture. The Assamese new year festival bihu is the most important festival of Assam,celebrated by fun and abundance, faith and belief. There are three bihu festivals in Assam, other two are Maagh and Kaati.


6. Pohela Boishakh :


Bengali New Year: The Nabo Barsho of Bengal is celebrated with great deal of enthusiasm and energy during the mid of April. This is the day of cultural programs, shopping, prayers and also considered as auspicious time for marriages. Pohela Boishakh celebrated by tribal people in hilly areas of Tripura and also in cities of other countries.

7. Bestu Varas :


Gujarati New Year: Bestu Varas mark the beginning of the harvest season in Gujrat and therefore is observed with great enthusiasm. It is celebrated as Gujarati New Year on the day after Diwali along with religious rituals and traditions. Marwaris of Rajasthan celebrate Diwali as a new year, the most auspicious day to start new things.

8. Vishu :


Malayalam New Year: Vishu is similar to the New Year festivals observed elsewhere in India, usually on April 14 of the Gregorian calendar. The most important event of the festival is “Vishukkani” means The first object viewed in the morning. It is one of the most popular traditional celebration festival followed by people of Kerala.

9. Losoong :


Sikkimese New Year: The Losoong is one of the most popular and old age festival of Sikkim, celebrated on month of December. It marks as the end of harvesting season and the New Year for people of Sikkim. Losoong is also known as ‘Sonam Losar’ the farmer’s new year, Chham dance is one of the major attraction of festival.

10. Navreh :


Kashmiri New Year: Navreh the lunar new year is celebrated as new year in Kashmir with great enthusiasm and sanctity. It’s fall on first day of Chaitra Navratri and is regarded as sacred in Kashmir as the Shivratri. It is observed as the New Year’s day in other part of India such as Gaudi Parva,Ugadi and cheti Chand the new year day of Sindhi people.


11. Cheti Chand :


Sindhi New Year: Cheti Chand the sindhi new year is celebrated on the second day of the Chaitra month. It is one of the very auspicious day in Sindhi community as they celebrates the festival to honor of the birth of “Jhulelal”.

12. Hijri :


Islamic New Year: The Islamic year start on the first day of Muharram, Islamic calendar does not align with the Gregorian calendar so the date for Islamic New Year or muharram vary as per lunar calendar. The New Year is celebrated with long standing customs & traditions for incoming spring.

So you see its not only Hindu calendar which is followed but different regional calender’s are followed in diffrent regionsof India. Like Tamil Calendar,Nanakshai Calendar,Marwari Calendar and Gregorian calendar.

In some regions newyear is celebrated on the onset of spring and in some on the end of winters. Some have historical reasons and some have religious reasons. Agriculture being the main occupation of Indian’s mostly Newyear is celebrated during Harvest time.

Saka Samvat and Vikram Samvat are two commonly used calendars in India. Saka Samvat has been adopted as an official civil calendar by India. Saka Samvat starts from 78 AD, whereas Vikram Samvat starts from 57 BC.



Share it

Follow Us On !

Recent Post